AI Consulting Services by Maple AI Consultants

AI consulting case studies by Joel & Nanz Inc.

Property Management Software Ratings for Canadian Landlords

How we pick property management software for client projects, with the scores behind it.

Software ratings › Property management · Facts checked October 23, 2026 · 6 products scored

Scored on our six criteria, MapleConcierge leads for a small Canadian portfolio, with Yardi Breeze and Landlord Studio next; Yardi stands out for its published Canadian features (pre-authorized debit rent, province-based leases). The US-first tools lose points because none of them publishes Canadian pricing.
Disclosure: Joel & Nanz Inc. builds and sells MapleConcierge. It is scored with the same rubric as everyone else and ranked by that score, including the criteria where it loses. No vendor paid to be listed, scored or ranked here.

How this comes up in client work

Property managers come to us for AI tenant communication: answering maintenance calls, logging requests, chasing late rent. All of it depends on the property management system underneath. We see small Canadian landlords on US tools that cannot collect rent from a Canadian bank account, so they run e-Transfers on the side and re-key everything.

We score the plan a landlord with about ten units would buy. For portfolios in the hundreds of units the weighting changes: accounting depth and integrations matter more than entry price, and the larger platforms deserve a closer look.

Scores at a glance

0 to 5 per criterion, equally weighted. Read the rubric for what each number means. Ranked by overall score.

Product PriceCanadian dataCAD and sales taxFrenchSetup effortSupport Overall
1.MapleConciergeOurs 5 5 4 5 3 3 4.2
2.Yardi Breeze 2 0 4 0 4 4 2.3
3.Landlord Studio 5 0 2 0 5 2 2.3
4.Buildium 3 0 2 0 3 4 2.0
5.Rentec Direct 4 0 1 0 5 2 2.0
6.TenantCloud 4 0 1 0 4 0 1.5

1.MapleConciergeOur product

Joel & Nanz Inc. · Canada · mapleconcierge.com · Overall 4.2 / 5

Best for: Canadian landlords and small property managers (up to about 50 units) who want a bilingual tenant portal and data kept in Canada.

Pricing
  • Free: $0 CAD per month (up to 2 units)
  • Essential: $49 CAD per month (up to 10 units)
  • Professional: $99 CAD per month (up to 50 units; online rent payments, screening)
  • Business: $199 CAD per month (51 to 250 units)
  • Enterprise: $499 CAD per month (250+ units; from $499)

Prices in CAD, plus HST or applicable sales taxes. From the vendor's pricing page, checked 2026-10-23. Prices change; confirm before you buy.

Why it scored what it did
  • 5/5Price: Free for 2 units and $49 CAD/month for up to 10, with no per-unit fees inside a band.
  • 5/5Canadian data: Pricing page states data is hosted in Canada.
  • 4/5CAD and sales tax: CAD pricing and Canadian lease flows; online rent collection needs the $99 plan.
  • 5/5French: Bilingual interface and tenant communications.
  • 3/5Setup effort: Guided onboarding with CSV imports; a portfolio move takes some days.
  • 3/5Support: Email on Essential, priority email and chat on Professional; SLA only from Business.

Where it wins: Free for up to 2 units, bilingual EN/FR, data hosted in Canada, and flat unit-band pricing in CAD.
Where it falls short: Online rent payments and tenant screening start on the $99 Professional plan; a younger product with a smaller ecosystem of integrations than Buildium or Yardi.

Community signal (separate from our score): 0 up · 0 down

2.Yardi Breeze

Yardi (Yardi Canada Ltd.) · www.yardibreeze.ca · Overall 2.3 / 5

Best for: Growing Canadian portfolios that want pre-authorized debit rent and province-based leases from an established vendor.

Pricing
  • Breeze (residential): $1 (currency not labelled on the vendor page) per unit/month ($100/month minimum, annual agreement; from the US site)
  • Breeze Premier (residential): $1 (currency not labelled on the vendor page) per unit/month ($400/month minimum, annual agreement)

Prices as listed on the vendor's Canadian page, plus applicable taxes. From the vendor's pricing page, checked 2026-10-23. Prices change; confirm before you buy.

Why it scored what it did
  • 2/5Price: $100/month minimum on an annual agreement is steep for a handful of units.
  • 0/5Canadian data: Not stated on the pages we read.
  • 4/5CAD and sales tax: Canadian site lists pre-authorized debit rent, cheque/PAD payouts and province-based leases; CAD pricing not published.
  • 0/5French: French interface not stated on the pages we read.
  • 4/5Setup effort: No setup or data conversion charges.
  • 4/5Support: Live chat 7am-7pm CST weekdays included; email after hours.

Where it wins: Has a dedicated Canadian site with PAD rent collection and province-based leases.
Where it falls short: $100/month minimum on an annual agreement is steep for a landlord with a handful of units; Canadian pricing not published.

Community signal (separate from our score): 0 up · 0 down

3.Landlord Studio

Landlord Studio · www.landlordstudio.com · Overall 2.3 / 5

Best for: Landlords with one to three units who mostly need rent tracking and bookkeeping.

Pricing
  • Go: $0 (currency not labelled on the vendor page) per month (1-3 units)
  • Pro: $12 (currency not labelled on the vendor page) per month billed annually (3 units included, $1 per extra unit; $15 monthly)
  • Pro Plus: $28 (currency not labelled on the vendor page) per month billed annually ($35 monthly)

Prices as listed on the vendor's Canadian page, plus applicable taxes. From the vendor's pricing page, checked 2026-10-23. Prices change; confirm before you buy.

Why it scored what it did
  • 5/5Price: Free for up to 3 units; paid from $12/month.
  • 0/5Canadian data: Not stated on the pages we read.
  • 2/5CAD and sales tax: Pricing page is a 'US plan comparison'; bank feeds are available in Canada.
  • 0/5French: French interface not stated on the pages we read.
  • 5/5Setup effort: Free self-serve plan; 14-day trial of Pro.
  • 2/5Support: Support tier rises by plan; no channels or targets published.

Where it wins: Free plan for 1-3 units and low per-unit pricing suit very small landlords.
Where it falls short: Pricing is the US plan; no Canadian page found, and only bank feeds are confirmed for Canada.

Community signal (separate from our score): 0 up · 0 down

4.Buildium

Buildium · www.buildium.com · Overall 2.0 / 5

Best for: Professional property managers who want a mature platform and are comfortable with US-first tooling.

Pricing
  • Essential: $62 (currency not labelled on the vendor page) starting at, per month (EFT fees and $99 setup per bank account)
  • Growth: $192 (currency not labelled on the vendor page) starting at, per month
  • Premium: $400 (currency not labelled on the vendor page) starting at, per month

Prices as listed on the vendor's Canadian page, plus applicable taxes. From the vendor's pricing page, checked 2026-10-23. Prices change; confirm before you buy.

Why it scored what it did
  • 3/5Price: From $62/month, plus per-transaction EFT fees and a $99 setup per bank account.
  • 0/5Canadian data: Not stated on the pages we read.
  • 2/5CAD and sales tax: Serves the US and Canada; a Buildium post announces Canadian EFT payments (date not confirmed). No CAD pricing.
  • 0/5French: French interface not stated on the pages we read.
  • 3/5Setup effort: 14-day trial; $99 setup per business bank account for payments.
  • 4/5Support: Homepage claims live phone support in minutes.

Where it wins: Explicitly serves Canada and supports Canadian EFT online rent payments.
Where it falls short: Starts at $62/mo with per-transaction fees and a $99 bank-account setup fee on Essential; currency for Canada not stated.

Community signal (separate from our score): 0 up · 0 down

5.Rentec Direct

Rentec Direct · USA · www.rentecdirect.com · Overall 2.0 / 5

Best for: US-based landlords; Canadian landlords should confirm banking features first.

Pricing
  • Rentec Starter: $25 (currency not labelled on the vendor page) flat per month (up to 10 properties)

Prices as listed on the vendor's Canadian page, plus applicable taxes. From the vendor's pricing page, checked 2026-10-23. Prices change; confirm before you buy.

Why it scored what it did
  • 4/5Price: $25/month flat for up to 10 properties.
  • 0/5Canadian data: Not stated on the pages we read.
  • 1/5CAD and sales tax: Payments run on US ACH; a Canadian customer review on Rentec's site says the banking module was not fully usable from Canada.
  • 0/5French: French interface not stated on the pages we read.
  • 5/5Setup effort: No setup fees, term commitments or training costs.
  • 2/5Support: Unlimited US-based support included; channels and targets not published.

Where it wins: Simple flat $25/mo for up to 10 properties with no setup fees.
Where it falls short: Built for US landlords (ACH banking); a Canadian reviewer on its own site reports the banking module was not fully usable from Canada.

Community signal (separate from our score): 0 up · 0 down

6.TenantCloud

TenantCloud · www.tenantcloud.com · Overall 1.5 / 5

Best for: DIY landlords in the US; Canadian rent collection could not be confirmed.

Pricing
  • Starter: $15 (currency not labelled on the vendor page) per month billed annually ($180/yr)
  • Growth: $29 (currency not labelled on the vendor page) per month billed annually
  • Pro: $50 (currency not labelled on the vendor page) per month billed annually

Prices as listed on the vendor's Canadian page, plus applicable taxes. From the vendor's pricing page, checked 2026-10-23. Prices change; confirm before you buy.

Why it scored what it did
  • 4/5Price: From $15/month on an annual bill.
  • 0/5Canadian data: Not stated on the pages we read.
  • 1/5CAD and sales tax: Payments listed are US ACH with 1099-K forms; Canadian rent collection not confirmed.
  • 0/5French: French interface not stated on the pages we read.
  • 4/5Setup effort: Self-serve with a 14-day trial.
  • 0/5Support: Support channels not stated on the pages we read.

Where it wins: Low entry price (Starter $15/mo annual) for DIY landlords.
Where it falls short: Payments shown are US ACH/1099-K; Canadian rent collection could not be verified on the vendor site.

Community signal (separate from our score): 0 up · 0 down

Suggest a company we missed

Know a property management product that a Canadian small business should consider? Tell us. Every suggestion is reviewed by a person before anything is published, and we only score a product after checking its pricing and claims on its own website.

Our editorial pick

This page shows the scoring. For the short version, what we recommend and why, read our property management recommendation on joelnanz.com.

Sources

Every price and claim above comes from the vendor's own website. Pages read on the date shown.

Spotted something out of date? Use the suggestion form above or contact us, and we will re-check it.